SHARNBASVA UNIVERSITY STATUTES: THE PROCEDURE FOR CONFERMENT OF HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREES

(Framed as per the provisions under section 8(iii) and section (8xxi) read with section 32(viii) of Sharnbasva University Act 2012).

1. TITLE AND COMMENCEMENT:

These statutes shall be called the Sharnbasva University Statutes for the award of Hon. Doctorate degree of the Sharnbasva University.

These statutes shall come into force from the date of assent of the Chancellor.

2. GUIDELINES/PROCEDURE FOR CONFERMENT OF HON. DOCTORATE DEGREES:

- The Chancellor shall constitute the committee consisting of Chairman, two members of the Board of Governors and/or Board of Management of the University, and the member convener.
- The Chairman of the committee shall be Vice-Chancellor of the Sharnbasva University and Registrar of the Sharnbasva University shall be the member convener.
- iii. The committee so formed in 2 (i & ii) shall be responsible for recommendation of names of the eminent persons for the award of the Hon. Doctorate degree of the Sharnbasva University. While recommending any name or names, a brief profile of each recommended person shall be enclosed with the list. The Honorary Doctorate degree of Sharnbasva University shall also be awarded posthumously in deserving cases.

- iv. The Honorary Doctorate degrees shall only be conferred in a regular convocation of the Sharnbasva University.
- v. About 2-3 Honorary Doctorate degrees shall be conferred per year.
- vi. The Sharnbasva University may not confer any Honorary Doctorate degrees in a given convocation.
- vii. The recommended names as per 2(iii) shall be forwarded to the Chancellor for further action.
- viii. The Chancellor may accept all the names (subject to maximum of three (3) or some of the names or reject all the names.
- ix. Incase of rejection of all the names or some of the names the Chancellor may or may not direct the committee to resend the fresh list of names with recommendation for the award of Hon. Doctorate degree of the Sharnbasva University.
- x. List of the names of the eminent persons accepted by the Chancellor may be placed in the Board of Governors for its approval.
- xi. The Sharnbasva University reserves the right to withdraw the Honorary Doctorate Degree/ Degrees awarded to such persons who have later (post award ceremony) found involved in such activities and acts involving antinational activities or similar activities including antisocial activities or found involved in such activities which are against the objectives of the Sharnbasva University or its Authorities as proved by any legal authority in the India/world.
- 3. Guidelines for recommending names of eminent persons from different fields for the award of Honorary Doctorate Degree of the Sharnbasva University.

**The eminent persons shall be considered for Honorary Doctorate degree, who have outstanding contributions in the fields (not limited to) of;

- Scholarly Research, teaching and learning: Engineering and Technology, Science and Technology, Business Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Law, etc.
- ii. Art & Culture
- iii. Industry
- iv. Farming
- v. Spiritual and Cultural fields
- vi. Media
- vii. Environment
- viii. World Peace
 - ix. Defence Services
 - x. Public Services
 - xi. Interdisciplinary Fields
- xii. Any other
 - **An Honorary Doctorate degree shall not be awarded to an active member of Sharnbasva University Faculty, Administration, Staff. Persons in these categories are eligible for nomination three years after retirement or resignation from their positions at the Sharnbasva University.
 - **No Honorary Doctorate degree shall ever be conferred in consideration of payment of money or the giving of property of whatsoever kind.